Olive Oil Commission of California Board of Directors Meeting Sacramento, CA

Minutes of Meeting September 7, 2023

A meeting of the Olive Oil Commission of California Board of Directors was called to order by Chairman Brady Whitlow at 10:00 am on September 7, 2023. Roll call was done, and a quorum was established with the following in attendance:

Board Members

Brady Whitlow, Corto Olive Co Jacqueline Kennedy, Kennedy Farms Larry Maben, Maben Family LLC Samantha Dorsey, McEvoy Michael Fox, California Olive Ranch Adrew Petrini, Delta Olive Producers Jeff Colombini, Lodi Farming Bruce Golino Mark Sievers, Il Fiorello

Board Alternates

Richard Marchini, Marchini Ag Frank Olagaray, Blossom Vineyards

Olive Oil Commission

Chris Zanobini

Guests

Cliff Little, Corto
Camila Hernandez, Corto
Jon Clark
Alexandria Dev
Stewart Beck
William Watson
Joe Profaci
Kimberely Holding
John Mesrobian

Jon Sciabica
Nick Sciabica
Brittaney Fagundes, California Olive Ranch
Chris Calvert, Ciarlo Fruit and Nut
Mikayla Gnoss, Boundary Bend
Laurel Rudolph, CDFA
Jon Sciabica, Sciabica Olive Oil
Carlos Machado, Agrolabs
Dennis Manderfield, CDFA

Public Comment Period

No Public Comments

Creating a National Olive Oil Research and Promotion Board

William Watson and Joe Profaci on behalf of NOOAA gave a presentation and held a questionand-answer session regarding a national research and promotion board. OOCC took no position at this time.

Review and Approval of June 8, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Minutes from the October 3, 2022, Board of Directors meeting were reviewed.

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to accept the minutes from the June 8, 2023, OOCC Board of Directors meeting as presented.

Election Results

Board Elections, Vacant Seats, Public Member and Election of Officers

Public Member – Bruce Golino

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to appoint Bruce Golino as the public member

Alternate Producer for District 1. – Jeremy Olday

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to appoint Jeremy Olday as the alternate producer member in District 1.

Chair – Brady Whitlow

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to appoint Brady Whitlow as the chair.

Vice Chair – Michael Fox

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to appoint Michael Fox as the Vice Chair.

Treasurer – Jef Colombini

A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to appoint Jeff Colombini as the Treasurer.

Crop Update and Roundtable

No significant changes but the concern is that gallons per ton could be down and timing is a definite concern.

Executive Committee Update

No report for this meeting

Advisory Board Update

A new advisory board has been appointed and the group will meet sometime in January.

Report from Grades and Labeling Standards Committee

Chris Zanobini reviewed the industry notice and the OOCC timeline and reporting forms.

Research Committee Update

Michael Fox reported that the research committee will meet in January and that the UCANR production manual is almost completed.

Other Business

AOOPA provided and update on the SOI – OOCC will be notified of any comment period.

The next meeting will be scheduled for January 11^{th} , 2024, and a tentative zoom meeting for June 6^{th} , 2024.

There was mention and discussion of the removal of the academic paper on olive oil sampling from the UC Davis Olive Center site.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00pm.

Certification of Minutes

I, Chris Zanobini, do hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing is a true and
correct copy of the minutes of the meeting of the Olive Oil Commission of California Board of
Directors held on September 7, 2023.

Date	Chris Zanobini, Executive Director
	Olive Oil Commission of California